witifulramblings

Day 80: …you just might miss the point

In Children, Family, Happiness, Love, Motherhood on February 28, 2013 at 8:42 am

…life’s not the breath you take, but breathing in and out that gets you through the day

ain’t what it’s all about,

you just might miss the point to run to win the race, life’s not the breaths you take but the moments that take your breath away.

Today I thought a lot about my life, and how so much of what we do in this life, the really good stuff, is compelled by the aforementioned philosophy.  That is, slowing down–we just might miss the point. 

When I first became a mother it was all about schedules, and feedings, and naps, and routines.  I think a lot of that was great but then I grew into my motherhood role and as little e grew we began to play trains, and I would teach him things, we would practice our letters and animals.  Part of learning is enjoying the process more than any ta-da moment.  As I spend more time with my Brit’s three year-old the memories of that process come to the surface.  It also reminds me how independent my 7 year-old e is now.  We’ve done a lot of slowing down lately in our household, we still accomplish things, but we find pleasure in being together and loving what were doing more than putting a tick on a list. 

Last week,

we took a helicopter flight over our city.

we went hunting.

we laughed to the point of tears.

we cuddled.

we endured a 45 minute tantrum, laughing together behind the scenes.

we held hands in the car.

we went grocery shopping with a 3 year-old.

We watched half a movie.

We ate beans on toast. {we bought a toaster}

We took a walk to the lake with e and skipped rocks.

we bought stumps of wood for 7.50$ and haggled the guy for 30 minutes.

we had a car dance party.

we team cleaned the house.

we watched the planes take off and land at the airport.

we ate cake.

The thing is, you can make all the lists in the world but without fulfillment in the doing you might as well just check it off unfulfilled. 

I am thankful today for my role as a mother.  I am thankful that I see the point more often than not.  I am thankful for the two boys that make me smile daily.  I am thankful I have a purpose and direction in my life.  I am thankful our family isn’t about winning the race–instead–we participate, truly.

a whit who finally feels whole.

  1. Take time to smell the roses. ❤

Leave a Reply

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

SOLD BY CATHY

I NEVER FORGET YOU HAVE A CHOICE

thejamsquare

Thetis Island Blog

The Home Team at MNS

Real Impact Real Estate

Violet Gallery

sketching, creating and living life!

Southern Sweetys Photography

Capturing Life's Sweetest Momemts

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

ExploreDreamDiscover Talks

Travel, culture, food, and perception

Margaret's Miscellany

(in which I catalog my travels and a random assortment of likes and dislikes)

Dropping LSD--(Law School Debt)

currently blogging: student loans, frugality, design tutorials, and random crap on the internet

divorced is not a marital status

Living life without the scarlet letter--D

Coffee Under the Umbrella

Would you like paint and power tools with your coffee?

