witifulramblings

My Style? Yes folks, I’m Looking For It: Day 61

In Beauty, Blogging, Fashion, Women on August 4, 2012 at 7:05 am

I always love perusing fellow bloggers to see where my next found muse will reside.

Today I found THIS BLOG, and I just had to look through all of her style archives because she does such a great job with her outfits.

I’ll admit, I don’t read many style blogs (because the outfits always add up to $500 a pop–yeah RIGHT) but there are a few really great things about pretty penny:

first:

she takes into account what my good friend Madeline has always told me…you buy a few expensive things to compliment everything else–that’s how you do style on a budget.  You only spend the money on the signature pieces and everything else you get it on the clearance rack.

pretty penny also recycles many of her pieces, in looking through her archives I noted that she recycled many things several times.

the best part about her blog is that she incorporates so many pieces from Kohls and since I am a couponer I definitely KNOW that you can get Kohls clothing practically free because they let you combine their store coupons (you can use Kohls cash with Kohls percentage off coupons simultaneously).

So, I’ve ended up pinning several of her posts and I’m going to see if I can recreate what she has done over the coming months. I’ve got so many of the items she utilizes, I am just terrible at putting them together. We’ll see how this project fix-my-style goes.

challenge 1: since I’ve had these HUE mustard tights sitting in my closet for over a year (I found them on clearance in SF for 3 bucks and just knew they would make something look great).  Well, she’s done it. Can I?

{photo compliments a pretty penny}

  1. I don’t know that this has much to do with anything you’ve said here, but whatever. One of my favorite “What Not To Wear” episodes involved a woman who shopped only at thrift stores (I happen to love thrift stores, and I can’t recall what was exactly “wrong” with her choices). But what I really remember was after Stacy and Clinton finished making fun of her sartorial choices, they led her to the mannequin and Clinton stated that the entire mannequin was dressed head to toe in Marshalls and TJ Maxx.
    As for the mustard-colored tights, sure! I like how she set them with neutral colored things. I relate to the struggle to put things together most days.

    • I pretty much only shop thrift right now, I’ve found some pretty cute stuff lately too–my problem is that I am so tiny that most sale stuff isn’t my size–which sucks. I think between grad school, two jobs, and single parenting I’ve somewhat lost the time to make myself look “put together.” I’d really like to get that skill back. I’m sure you can relate being a mom too! I just have to do it on the cheap because I get a thrill out of a deal!

Leave a Reply

SOLD BY CATHY

I NEVER FORGET YOU HAVE A CHOICE

thejamsquare

Thetis Island Blog

The Home Team at MNS

Real Impact Real Estate

Violet Gallery

sketching, creating and living life!

Southern Sweetys Photography

Capturing Life's Sweetest Momemts

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

ExploreDreamDiscover Talks

Travel, culture, food, and perception

Margaret's Miscellany

(in which I catalog my travels and a random assortment of likes and dislikes)

Dropping LSD--(Law School Debt)

currently blogging: student loans, frugality, design tutorials, and random crap on the internet

divorced is not a marital status

Living life without the scarlet letter--D

Coffee Under the Umbrella

Would you like paint and power tools with your coffee?

