witifulramblings

Why I Left Facebook (And You Should Too): Day 60

In Blogging, Education, Humanity, life, Teaching, TED Talks on August 1, 2012 at 7:53 am

Today is another posting concerning a TED talk–I seem to listen to these in bouts.

This one deals with something referred to as the 30-day challenge.  Essentially, the 30-day challenge requires you to pick one thing in your life, a thing you would like to change or add, and then implement it for 30 days straight.

I found this interesting, especially since I had no idea this was even a  scientific research ‘thing,’ but that I had done this several times myself within the last year or so.  I’ll explain.

I made a decision one day that too many people that know far too little about me (in real life) know far TOO MUCH about me on the internet.  Didn’t like it. So, I started by purging my Facebook friends list, I went from something like 450 friends down to about 250 and then I let it sit for a few months.  When I returned to it, I recognized it needed more purging so I did it–60, let it sit, and then something like 23.

23.

I had 23 people that I felt comfortable with seeing/viewing/intimately gazing in on my life via the line.

It seemed so pointless to me, so I decided to cut the facebook account.  At first, I thought it would only be temporary.  I figured I’d give it 30 days and then go from there.  Oddly enough, I did have withdrawals in those first few weeks of my friendly fbook’s departure.  I’d find myself cringing at not knowing if Suzie had posted her labor and delivery pictures or if Bozo had finally engaged to his 10-year girlfriend.  I’d reach for my phone every time a good picture or ‘moment’ presented itself and then realize, “Oh, I don’t have facebook anymore.”  And then something else happened, I forgot about it. This is something mentioned in this TED research–it is quite typical that if you give something 30 days within your life that it will become embedded within it and serve as a new lifestyle modification/change.  This certainly happened to me, I am coming up on my almost 1 year mark of my facebook departure and I hardly think of the social networking site now–if at all.  I told a friend the other day how great it is now to meet friends for lunch.  Of course they always commence the conversation with some sadness, “I wish you we’re on facebook still…” or “I went to find you on facebook the other day and you weren’t there (sad face ensues)” and of course the occasional “I just KNEW you would want to ‘like’ this one post but you weren’t there.”  Then the conversation goes on and they proceed to update me on all the facebook happenings–makes me quite happy because I get a bulk of very interesting information about a bunch of people I really don’t care that much about, but that feel the need to share their lives with randoms, and all over a very nice meal.  Seems like a win win to me.

Then there is my most recent 30 day challenge.

Pop.

Soda.

Coke.

Whatever you want to call it.

After looking at my cellulite thighs, yes it is true despite those who mock me (you can be 100 pounds with cottage cheese thighs), I decided for a dietary change.  One of those was my departure from McDonalds Coke (they make it the best), and I can proudly say that after 2.5 months now of touching zero carbonated beverages I feel so much better (and the cellulite disappeared like magic!)  My point here is that this 30 day also stuck–they normally stick.

My next 30 day you ask?  Listen to the news/presidential/election coverage for the next 30 days…here we go.

What’s your 30 day challenge going to be?  Everyone should have one.  Good things stick so why not provoke that, huh.

a determined whit.

Leave a Reply

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

SOLD BY CATHY

I NEVER FORGET YOU HAVE A CHOICE

thejamsquare

Thetis Island Blog

The Home Team at MNS

Real Impact Real Estate

Violet Gallery

sketching, creating and living life!

Southern Sweetys Photography

Capturing Life's Sweetest Momemts

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

ExploreDreamDiscover Talks

Travel, culture, food, and perception

Margaret's Miscellany

(in which I catalog my travels and a random assortment of likes and dislikes)

Dropping LSD--(Law School Debt)

currently blogging: student loans, frugality, design tutorials, and random crap on the internet

divorced is not a marital status

Living life without the scarlet letter--D

Coffee Under the Umbrella

Would you like paint and power tools with your coffee?

