witifulramblings

Day 53: The Ugly Truth (About This Mirror): What MeiJo Didn’t Tell You

In DIY, Home Decor, wit on July 13, 2012 at 10:41 am

I found this mirror tutorial here.  I purposefully didn’t post anything about this project because I wasn’t sure if it would ever actually transpire, and for fear of looking like an idiot, I thought I’d just keep it hush. Finally, in the off chance I did get around to it, which I was sure I would not, it’d be my luck the thing would look like a lopsided ‘cheap’ idea.

Well. This really is a great idea.  I don’t know why but for some reason it just didn’t occur to me that this might be a tedious idea, you think?  MeiJo fails to mention that after gluing hundreds, if not thousands (we did make it into the thousands), of tiny little sequins you will certainly have ten burnt fingertips, a backache, and I managed to somehow pull a joint near my groin (I liked to glue the sequins in a squating position on the floor–not so smart). Each row takes anywhere from 1-2 hours and they only get bigger and more complicated as you move outward (the beauty of the starburst design).

So now that you know the truth, here are some things I found helpful (if you decide to brave this DIY).

A pineapple corer works great for getting the cardboard to form into an actual circle.

Image

Don’t worry if your ‘circles” have bumps (most of mine did) minus this one:

Image

Be sure to pick the dried hot glue off as you go.

Press the sequins on from the sides so the glue doesn’t go through the center hole.

Don’t worry about the circles matching up—no one will be able to tell.

I put my sequins on as I went to act as “placeholders” then I would pick them off and move them if needed.

Basically, by the 800th sequin (literally) I was beginning to not like this piece as much.  You couldn’t pay me any amount of money to make another one of these.

MeiJo’s

Image

Mine

Image

Image

signed a whit-ing addict that hopes she never sees a silver sequin again. That said mirror= 8$. My life gluing sequins for five days: priceless.

  1. I think it looks beautiful. And that it’s very appropo for the blogger’s entry to be entitled “There’s a will, there’s a way.”

Leave a Reply

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

SOLD BY CATHY

I NEVER FORGET YOU HAVE A CHOICE

thejamsquare

Thetis Island Blog

The Home Team at MNS

Real Impact Real Estate

Violet Gallery

sketching, creating and living life!

Southern Sweetys Photography

Capturing Life's Sweetest Momemts

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

ExploreDreamDiscover Talks

Travel, culture, food, and perception

Margaret's Miscellany

(in which I catalog my travels and a random assortment of likes and dislikes)

Dropping LSD--(Law School Debt)

currently blogging: student loans, frugality, design tutorials, and random crap on the internet

divorced is not a marital status

Living life without the scarlet letter--D

Coffee Under the Umbrella

Would you like paint and power tools with your coffee?

