witifulramblings

Daily Cupcake: Holstee May

In Holstee Manifesto, life, Thoughts on May 3, 2012 at 2:32 am

Today’s cupcake is inspired by the Holstee Manifesto (as you know).

LIFE IS SHORT.

Awhile back, in this post I mentioned little Atticus Hansen.  Normally his mom, Cindy, posts on their blog to give updates on Atticus, share her feelings, and or share the adventures of the Hansen Family Bucket List–some of which have been pree-ty awesome if you ask me.  But today, when I logged onto their blog, there was something different.  The newest post read “My Turn” and as my eyes began to shift through the lines I soon realized today it was Atticus’ Dad writing.  As I read his words, a fathers words, about the shortness of his time with his son, doing the things they love the most, playing ball, I knew HIS words had to speak to you today–not mine.

Sometimes friends ask me why I would want to read a blog about something so sad.  A valid question.  I think I was really drawn to Atticus’ story because he is so close in age to little e and everything I read about him reminds me of my little boy (his wit and coordination).  If there’s one thing I have recognized in life, it’s that we learn best how to seize our own experiences through synthesizing others’.  I can say without a doubt, I will never again take for granted each and every ball game little e plays.  I take time to watch him after he falls asleep, to focus on his every little feature when the buzzing stops and he finally rests.  I take time to write down the funny things he says.  I don’t know that I always did this to the degree I should have been doing this.  Atticus has taught me that.

Because life is short, we should never pass up the opportunity to help others and dedicate our life to just that.  Next weekend, little e and I are going to send something special to Atti in the mail (this makes his life so much brighter)–we don’t need to know him personally to serve him. I encourage you to do the same.  Take the time out of your day to brighten the life of a very special four year-old–even if it’s just a card–because LIFE IS SHORT.

Mr. Atticus Hansen
462 Fenwick Drive
Sunnyvale, TX 75182

  1. […] Great Race in honor os sweet little Atticus Hansen whom I have mentioned on my blog a few times.  Here and […]

Leave a Reply

SOLD BY CATHY

I NEVER FORGET YOU HAVE A CHOICE

thejamsquare

Thetis Island Blog

The Home Team at MNS

Real Impact Real Estate

Violet Gallery

sketching, creating and living life!

Southern Sweetys Photography

Capturing Life's Sweetest Momemts

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

ExploreDreamDiscover Talks

Travel, culture, food, and perception

Margaret's Miscellany

(in which I catalog my travels and a random assortment of likes and dislikes)

Dropping LSD--(Law School Debt)

currently blogging: student loans, frugality, design tutorials, and random crap on the internet

divorced is not a marital status

Living life without the scarlet letter--D

Coffee Under the Umbrella

Would you like paint and power tools with your coffee?

