witifulramblings

Day 44: Melting With The Kinders

In Mother, Teaching on May 2, 2012 at 5:41 am

Today I had the pleasure of teaching the kinders again, yes, Ms. Whit teaches school too!

As I was watching the little ones ride their trikes along the “yellow line” and the little Indian boy yell to me from across the playground in his best fresh U.S. accent, “I like you! I really like you!” (beaming a grin ear to ear).  I couldn’t help but think about how much I really love teaching, how much I really love being a mother. They are so interconnected.

Later in the day, once all of the kinders had found their way home for their afternoon naps, then I had the chance to work with some of the ‘firsties’ one-on-one.  As we were practicing money math a little boy came up behind me and began to stroke my ponytail.  He combed through my hair very gently, and I immediately began to melt.  I can’t remember the last time someone did that, and it took me back to the second grade carpet time when my best friend Robyn used to braid my hair while the teacher told stories.  Eventually he stopped, we resumed our money practicing skills, and he proclaimed time and time again, “ya’ll get it right…the nickle’s the one with the WHITE HOUSE!”

Kids.

We forget how loving they are.

We forget how non-judgmental they are.

We forget how innocent they are.

We forget to be more like them.

Day in, and day out.

We should try to remember.

signed,

A teaching whit.

Leave a Reply

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

SOLD BY CATHY

I NEVER FORGET YOU HAVE A CHOICE

thejamsquare

Thetis Island Blog

The Home Team at MNS

Real Impact Real Estate

Violet Gallery

sketching, creating and living life!

Southern Sweetys Photography

Capturing Life's Sweetest Momemts

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

ExploreDreamDiscover Talks

Travel, culture, food, and perception

Margaret's Miscellany

(in which I catalog my travels and a random assortment of likes and dislikes)

Dropping LSD--(Law School Debt)

currently blogging: student loans, frugality, design tutorials, and random crap on the internet

divorced is not a marital status

Living life without the scarlet letter--D

Coffee Under the Umbrella

Would you like paint and power tools with your coffee?

