witifulramblings

Day 43: Holstee Manifesto

In life, Thoughts, Women on May 1, 2012 at 5:49 am

I hadn’t ever heard of the Holstee Manifesto but after reading it earlier today I couldn’t help but note that the entire thing sums up my entire blog in probably less than 30 words–crazy huh?  Somewhere out there, someone named Holstee is really smart.

On a heavier note though, the Holstee Manifesto is so inspiring.  The Manifesto blog, I think that’s what it is, has a contest going where you can submit your experiences as they relate to the Manifesto itself.  I decided to choose one of my 2010 blog posts and submit it with the following intro, which I will share in this post.

If you don’t like your life, change it….Life is simple….Life is SHORT.”  I wrote this piece for my blog in 2010, after experiencing a very painful and long divorce, rendering me a single mother.  Then I stumbled upon the Holstee Manifesto which seemingly tied together all my thoughts within this particular posting–in a much more succinct and eloquent fashion.  Life is an opportunity, a means for experience, evolving, and creation.  The key factor, though, in life, is that everything we do, everything we experience, every way we evolve, and every thing that we create, it is all perpetuated by one thing–choice. The choice to truly live.

I ran across this picture on pinterest,

and I loved it but then I really got to thinking about what it says.  I may never meet a guy to date or marry–or it may be many years from now.  So, I have to start living in my own world of cans and dreams.  I have to start making my plans and doing the things I want to do.  That can still be an empowering and a happy thing.

I can go to India next summer, and I am making plans for it (and no mom, I am not going to be abducted by a group of vagrant Indian men).

signed,

a whit that can (and will)

***Please stay tuned for more on the Holstee Manifesto

  1. […] I read that phrase on the Monavie shipment I received just yesterday it reminded me of the Holstee Manifesto–the importance of living a fulfilled and truly lived life. Happiness is a choice that we […]

Leave a Reply

SOLD BY CATHY

I NEVER FORGET YOU HAVE A CHOICE

thejamsquare

Thetis Island Blog

The Home Team at MNS

Real Impact Real Estate

Violet Gallery

sketching, creating and living life!

Southern Sweetys Photography

Capturing Life's Sweetest Momemts

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

ExploreDreamDiscover Talks

Travel, culture, food, and perception

Margaret's Miscellany

(in which I catalog my travels and a random assortment of likes and dislikes)

Dropping LSD--(Law School Debt)

currently blogging: student loans, frugality, design tutorials, and random crap on the internet

divorced is not a marital status

Living life without the scarlet letter--D

Coffee Under the Umbrella

Would you like paint and power tools with your coffee?

