witifulramblings

Grandma D–What Day is This?

In Uncategorized on April 1, 2012 at 4:50 am

As I was getting my nails done the other day, I found myself plopped right beside a very chatty 80 year-old.  To piggyback on my last posting, Dorothea (that is her name) had a lot of advice for me (and you).  Let’s take it from the top, Grandma D was married three times, the first husband forced her to live in a house with her mother in-law and five other men–quite the experience she relates.  She finally packed up and moved out, to Nevada, where she met her second husband had three more kids (she already had two from the previous marriage), about ten years later she divorced hubby two and moved onto number three (that also brought her to California).

Aside from her contextualization, and a brief interval wherein she questions my “mosquito” bite on my left jaw line (which turns out was actually a zit), she relates the following advice:

First, alfalfa tablets for my acneaic face.  Apparently, her ex-sister in-law and brother had bad acne, before they both died, oh and much worse than mine, but they took alfalfa tablets and it helped.  Of course, they still had scarring but the scarred acne survivors found each other and were able to look beyond their facial blotches.  End of story. Are you out there fellow acne scar mate?  I tend to get the red-blotchy scars, so someone with similar results would be best suited for me.

Grandma D then began to tell me how with each husband (remember she had three) they only got uglier and uglier.  Wow. Then she blurts out, “honey, my third husband was so UGLY. His face was the ugliest thing I’d ever seen but I could never see anything but good–beauty in him.  He treated me so well.  He loved me for who I am.”

Grandma D’s commentary got me to thinking, seriously.  I wonder sometimes if I even know what I am looking for in a mate.  I want one, don’t most women or, rather, people?  Perhaps my focus needs to be more on the inside virture versus outside appearances–maybe attraction can be found in beautiful spirits.  I think it can.  I think it’s just another one of those miraculous match-up rarities, though.  Despite this, I think I am going to try to be a little bit more open-minded going forward in my dating endeavors.  Not a lowering of my standards, no, but maybe allowing myself to get to know a wider variety of individuals–like my fellow acne sufferers!

A hopeful whit (whose zit is thankfully healing).

Leave a Reply

SOLD BY CATHY

I NEVER FORGET YOU HAVE A CHOICE

thejamsquare

Thetis Island Blog

The Home Team at MNS

Real Impact Real Estate

Violet Gallery

sketching, creating and living life!

Southern Sweetys Photography

Capturing Life's Sweetest Momemts

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

ExploreDreamDiscover Talks

Travel, culture, food, and perception

Margaret's Miscellany

(in which I catalog my travels and a random assortment of likes and dislikes)

Dropping LSD--(Law School Debt)

currently blogging: student loans, frugality, design tutorials, and random crap on the internet

divorced is not a marital status

Living life without the scarlet letter--D

Coffee Under the Umbrella

Would you like paint and power tools with your coffee?

