witifulramblings

Why Do I Envy …Day 33

In Uncategorized on February 2, 2012 at 6:40 am

Why do we envy others?  Life is too short to wish for things we do not have–forgetting what is given, individually.  I have to catch myself when I read others’ blogs, they give me a sneak peek into what I see as “the perfect life.”  That is, a perfect chair (upholstered by some fancy dancy shop), the cutest couch, a bubble necklace from anthropologie, the latest baby crap (who knew kids circus tents exist? they do), do you realize how stupid all of this sounds?  I do. Sometimes I even think others pleasure themselves in the presentation of all this, I may be stretching but why is it important to devote an entire blog post, weekly, concerning the accumulations of shopping shit?

I guess its easier to envy things like: perfect husbands, perfect children, pregnancies, family trips, beautiful pictures of created memories, for loving families amidst all of the aforementioned make these things seem even more enviable, it’s true.  These seem to be the acceptable enviables (like a true scholar I just created my own term).  However, how often do we look at someone else, wanting what they have so badly that we fail to see the abundance of our own blessings in plain sight? (and seriously, what kid needs a circus tent anyway?)

Guilty.

The other morning as I dropped e off to school–late.  I know, bad mom.  It was totally my fault, too.  I am approaching my car and the creepy loud speaker principal’s message begins to echo, “kids are we put on this earth to wear the nicest clothes, have the nicest things, and buy stuff?  Or are we put here to help others…to love others?”  That morning I needed that message to remind me what I should know as a grown adult–I was lucky to be late and have heard it.

I am so thankful for my life, the love that is in it, and the beauty of this knowledge.  I am thankful for all of this minus the anthropologie necklace.

Leave a Reply

SOLD BY CATHY

I NEVER FORGET YOU HAVE A CHOICE

thejamsquare

Thetis Island Blog

The Home Team at MNS

Real Impact Real Estate

Violet Gallery

sketching, creating and living life!

Southern Sweetys Photography

Capturing Life's Sweetest Momemts

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

ExploreDreamDiscover Talks

Travel, culture, food, and perception

Margaret's Miscellany

(in which I catalog my travels and a random assortment of likes and dislikes)

Dropping LSD--(Law School Debt)

currently blogging: student loans, frugality, design tutorials, and random crap on the internet

divorced is not a marital status

Living life without the scarlet letter--D

Coffee Under the Umbrella

Would you like paint and power tools with your coffee?

