witifulramblings

Happiness and Thanks: Day Twenty-One

In Articles, Blogging, Happiness, Humanity, Thoughts on November 22, 2010 at 8:57 pm

As of late, this blog’s narrative has kind of taken a deviation of sorts.  I guess I’ve had some random thoughts/references (all of course relating to the idea of happiness and my search for it).  I think one can “be happy,” while at the same time searching for it too.  This is simply because: happiness is an ever-evolving process, and it is not finite.  Throughout our lives, and subsequent experiences, happiness means different things, but the search for it is always there; however, sometimes dormant (probably a state closest to depression).

Thinking about happiness and it’s effect on social interactions has been on my mind as of late.  What happens when what you’ve been seeking is achieved?  How does this affect the individual, are you all the sudden a happy person?  Is this noticed among those you interact with?  Do you change as an individual?

I think you do and I think people notice, obviously.   For example,

Four years ago I was in a state of what I would consider “dormant happiness.” I was probably encroaching on that territory I spoke of earlier .  But I still wanted “things” for myself, for my child, for my life.  I knew that much.  I remember thinking that while I was staring at the blinds.

Now, here I am four years later.  Some of those things I wanted then have been achieved, some have not, and new things have been added.  I would consider myself acutely active in my endeavors now, especially those concerning my own happiness.  I’ve evolved.

But what really interests me, today, is that those things I hoped for, desired, really wanted they’ve been achieved in ways I never could have imagined at the time.  They aren’t EXACT duplicates of what I wanted, some are, but most aren’t.  They are renditions.  My point is, we think we know what we want, but it doesn’t always turn out that way, exactly.  Sometimes, that’s okay because what we get might be even better, or more importantly even better for us.

We should all remember, during this time of Thanksgiving, that the exactness of our wants and their achievement may vary, but we can still be happy and fulfilled in what is given.

Happy Thanksgiving everyone.

Ms. Whit.

Leave a Reply

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

SOLD BY CATHY

I NEVER FORGET YOU HAVE A CHOICE

thejamsquare

Thetis Island Blog

The Home Team at MNS

Real Impact Real Estate

Violet Gallery

sketching, creating and living life!

Southern Sweetys Photography

Capturing Life's Sweetest Momemts

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

ExploreDreamDiscover Talks

Travel, culture, food, and perception

Margaret's Miscellany

(in which I catalog my travels and a random assortment of likes and dislikes)

Dropping LSD--(Law School Debt)

currently blogging: student loans, frugality, design tutorials, and random crap on the internet

divorced is not a marital status

Living life without the scarlet letter--D

Coffee Under the Umbrella

Would you like paint and power tools with your coffee?

